Aberdeenshire AFA

Official website of the Aberdeenshire Amateur Football Association

Rainbow City Taxis Advert

Woodside win the AFC Trophy

Woodside 3 – 2 Kincorth (AET)

Ten men Woodside fought back to take Kincorth into extra time and then went ahead to win the AFC Trophy.

The game started with both teams wary of each other and most of the play was in midfield with Woodside making the better openings.

In thirty four minutes a kick by Woodside’s keeper reached James Simpson whose first time volley flew into the net.

Their lead lasted for nine minutes before Kincorth’s Brian McDonald raced on to a cross from Livingstone and fired the ball past keeper McDonald.

Three minutes later Kincorth were ahead when Jamie Buchan headed home a free kick from Livingstone.

Woodside’s James Simpson levelled the score in sixty two minutes when his shot slipped under keeper Stephen.

Woodside had to thank keeper McDonald for three great saves, one from Hutchins and two from Madle that kept the score at 2-2.

With ten minutes to go Woodside’s Paul Main was sent off for a second yellow card offence. Score at ninety minutes was 2-2 putting the game into extra time.

The first period of extra time also ended 2-2 and both teams were tiring and going down with cramp.

With one hundred and fourteen minutes gone Woodside’s James Simpson was unmarked ten yards from goal and blasted the ball past the keeper to make the score 3-2 and gave him a well deserved hat trick.

No further scoring took place and captain McKenzie picked up the AFC Trophy from the AAFA President Jim Napier.

Woodside: McDonald, Main, Buchan, Mckenzie, Gibb, Simpson, Gray, Davie, Strachan, Marr, Thomson. Subs – Taylor, Petrie, Ferguson, McGunnigle, McBain, Sutherland.

Kincorth: Stephen, Kemp, McDonald, Barrack, Robertson, Stuart, Madle, Buchan, Tait, Livingstone, Hutchins. Subs – McColl, Wood, McLean, Cannon, Valentine.