Aberdeenshire AFA

Official website of the Aberdeenshire Amateur Football Association

Rainbow City Taxis Advert

Halliburton 4 – 1 RGU

1st Touch Football Division One (East) at Kaimhill on Saturday 12th February

Halliburton gave up ground rights to get this game played. These two teams met in the league two weeks ago and Halliburton scored in the last minute of the game to force a draw.

RGU kicked off with a strong wind in their face but lost the ball in midfield and Halliburton went on the attack with a long ball sent to Kyle Jaques who scored from ten yards in thirty seconds.

Their lead lasted for fifteen minutes until keeper Andrews failed to hold a shot from Scott and the ball rebounded to Craig Thain who made no mistake from close range.

RGU were the better team moving the ball from man to man but could not break down a strong Halliburton defence with keeper Andrews making several saves.

In thirty minutes Halliburton had a penalty claim turned down when Low seemed to handle the ball but the referee waved play on.

A few minutes later Halliburton’s Webster caught the RGU defence sleeping and was allowed to shoot from eighteen yards and the ball flew past the post with keeper Popkin beaten. There was no more scoring and the half time score was 1-1.

Half-time: 1-1

In fifty sixty minutes Halliburton’s Allan Gebbie pounced on a loose ball in the eighteen yard box and beat keeper Popkin from ten yards.

Halliburton went further ahead in eighty minutes when Nicol Webster hit a tremendous shot from thirty yards which beat the unsighted keeper Popkin.

RGU were making chances but frustration and poor finishing let them down. Just on time a Halliburton move down the left saw the ball crossed into the six yard box where keeper Popkin failed to control it, dropped it at the feet of Nicol Webster who toe-poked it into the net making the final score 4-1.

Full Time: 4-1

Halliburton: Andrews, Wood, Nick Duncan, Young, Kyle Jaques, Simpson, Mutch, Ross Fulton, Webster, Gebbie, Stuart Jaques. Subs – Fisken, McDonald, Graeme Fulton, Moir, Stewart Duncan.

RGU: Popkin, Annand, Low, Cruickshank, Twatt, Taylor, Mowat, Campbell, Thain, Horkan, Scott. Subs – Morrice, Adams, Carr.

[nggallery id=100]