Aberdeenshire AFA

Official website of the Aberdeenshire Amateur Football Association

RGU 0 – 2 Westdyke

North of Scotland Cup Second Round at Kaimhill on Saturday 11th December

RGU officials had worked hard getting the pitch playable for their North of Scotland Cup tie against Premier League opposition Westdyke. Despite Westdyke having Malcolm Stevenson red carded before half time they went ahead when Brad Milne beat keeper Waugh.

Westdyke took charge of the game from the kick off. A shot from Milne in nine minutes slipped past the post and a minute later Westdyke’s Bain had RGU keeper Waugh diving to his left pushing the ball for a corner. With twelve minutes on the clock a move by Westdyke’s Milne and Stevenson finished with keeper Waugh smothering the ball at Stevenson’s feet.

RGU were struggling to get out of their own half and slack passing made it easy for Westdyke’s midfield to collect the ball and start attacking moves. The nearest RGU came to scoring was in twenty five minutes when a free kick twenty yards out taken by Taylor scraped over the bar.

In forty two minutes Westdyke’s Stevenson was ordered off after a heavy tackle on RGU’s Horkan. Two minutes later Westdyke went ahead after keeper Waugh failed to hold a shot from Mowat and Brad Milne was first to the loose ball and beat the keeper.

Half-time: 0-1

RGU had a twenty minute attacking spell at the begining of the second half but could not hit the target with any of their shots. They forced Westdyke to defend in their eighteen yard area and won several corners but poor finishing let them down.

Westdyke had a penalty claim turned down by referee Lovie when Taylor went down in the box. With fifteen minutes left Westdyke’s Ross Taylor put the game beyond doubt when, from twenty yards out on the right, his shot cum cross found the corner of the net putting Westdyke into the next round of the NOS Cup.

Full Time: 0-2

RGU: Waugh, Murray, Adams, Twatt, Taylor, Mowat, Gatens, Campbell, Antoniazzi, Horken, Scott. Subs Thain, Carr, Cruickshank, Priestly.

Westdyke: Ewen, Torrance, Bruce, Bain, Lee Milne, Wilson, McKenzie, Taylor, Brad Milne, Stevenson, Anderson. Subs Fotheringham, Simpson, Davidson, Hamilton. Aitchison.

Referee – A. Lovie

[nggallery id=94]