Aberdeenshire AFA

Official website of the Aberdeenshire Amateur Football Association

Kaimhill United 1 – 0 Theologians

1st Touch Division Two (North) at Kaimhill on Saturday 30th October

Kaimhill move to within a point of Theologians in the league after today’s win. The game was marred by a serious injury to Theo’s Graham Cruickshank. The game had to be stopped for forty minutes until he received treatment from paramedics.

Kaimhill had the better start and had Theos pinned back in their own half forcing keeper Duncan to keep his concentration and make saves from Paton and Petrie. Theos first chance came in nineteen minutes when they broke out of defence and a perfect cross from Cruickshank fell to MacLoud whose hurried, sliced shot ended up going for a throw in.

Six minutes later disaster struck Theos when Cruickshank tried an overhead kick, fell badly resulting in the game being stopped for forty minutes when he was taken to hospital.

From the restart Theos made unsuccessful chances from Douglas and Duncan. In thirty eight minutes the best chance of the half fell to Kaimhill’s Watson who from six yards sent his shot over the bar. Just on half time Kaimhill’s May forced keeper Duncan to make a double save.

Half-time: 0-0

The second half started with Theo’s Ross making a run down the right but his shot hit the side netting. In fifty three minutes Kaimhill’s Gardner had the ball in the net only to be disallowed for offside by referee Lovie.

Neither team were testing the keepers, moves were breaking down on the edge of the eighteen yard box and shots were off target until the seventy fifth minute when Kaimhill were awarded a penalty after Clark -Reay handled the ball in the box. Kaimhill’s Christopher Birnie’s spot kick beat the diving keeper. 1-0. No further scoring took place giving Kaimhill the three points.

Full Time: 1-0

Kaimhill United: Patience, Anderson, Muir, Bramma, Hunter, Hay, Watson, Gardner, Paton, Birnie, Petrie. Subs – Pinkerton, Thomson, Goldie, Cowie.

Theologians: Barry Duncan, Nelson, Forbes, Clark-Reay, Johnston, Ross, Cruickshank, Ian Duncan, Douglas, McKenzie, Mearns. Subs – Milne, Greig, MacLoud, Breen, Watson.

Referee – A. Lovie

[nggallery id=90]