Aberdeenshire AFA

Official website of the Aberdeenshire Amateur Football Association

Rattrays XI win the Dickie Trophy

Rattrays XI long serving President Willie Allan was given the honour of picking up the Dickie Trophy after his team beat Hilton on penalty kicks in an entertaining and exciting game at Hillhead. All the trophies were handed over by AAFA President Jim Napier representing Colin’s Tyres, the sponsors of the competition.

Both keepers were in action early on when Rattrays’ keeper Thouless had to make a save from Scott and at the other end keeper Cowie had to look lively pushing a shot from Rattrays’ Edwards round the post.

With nineteen minutes gone Rattrays’ Michie was unmarked in front of goal but his shot went way over the bar. Players from both teams were committing needless fouls resulting in referee Wright showing the yellow card to calm things down.

Three minutes into the second half Hilton’s Andrew Campbell put his team ahead when a cross from the left was not cleared by Rattrays’ defence.

Eleven minutes later Rattray’s Derek Yates scored from ten yards levelling the score.

With no further scoring the game went into extra time. The heavy pitch was taking its toll on the players and several had to receive attention for cramp.

There was no more scoring and the game went to penalty kicks with Rattray’s coming out victors 4-2.

[nggallery id=75]