Aberdeenshire AFA

Official website of the Aberdeenshire Amateur Football Association

Bon Accord City 4 – 2 University (AET)

Aberdeen FC Trophy Fourth Round at Balgownie on 10th April

Although Uni’ had Bon Accord under pressure for most of the game after going a goal down they fought back to level the score then went a goal in front however a goal from Bon Accord in added time put the tie into extra time.

Uni’ were first to attack and in ten minutes Rankin should have scored but his shot went past the upright.

In fifteen minutes Bon Accord were awarded a free kick at the edge of the eighteen yard box. The ball was floated to the far post where Stewart McLaren fired home from six yards.

Uni’ were determined to get the goal back and were pushing forward at every opportunity and finally found the killer touch in thirty six minutes when, from a corner, Uni’s Paul Scott headed home.

Half-time: 1-1

Uni’ took the lead in forty eight minutes when Neil Rankin rounded his marker and his shot went under keeper Hill.

Uni’ were caught out when Bartlett’s long throw found the head of Davidson whose header hit the top of the bar and went out of play.

Uni were the stronger team at this time finding their men with their passes and pinning Bon Accord back in their own half until one minute into added time when Bon Accord’s William Small who was unmarked rifled in a shot through a ruck of players and beat the unsighted keeper Stephen.

Full Time: 2-2

The late goal gave Bon Accord a new lease of life and in ninety seven minutes William Small put Bon Accord ahead with a shot from twelve yards.

In one hundred and two minutes Mark Bartlett got a foot to loose ball in the box and beat keeper Stephen to put BonAccord 4-2 up.

No further scoring in the second period of extra time gave Bon Accord a victory putting them through to the fifth round of the AFC Trophy.

Final Score (AET): 4-2

Bon Accord City: Hill, Tiffney, Guyan, Harris, Durno, McLaren, Small, Bartlett, Scott Craig, Davidson, Aurik. Subs – Watt, Andrew Craig, Falco, Mowatt, Stewart

University: Stephen, Whitfield, Hanna, Haywood, Scott, Black, Lamont, Rankin, Leitch, Workman, Bell

Referee – Keith Law

[nggallery id=61]