Aberdeenshire AFA

Official website of the Aberdeenshire Amateur Football Association

Cove Thistle are Premier Champions

After four years in the Premier League Cove Thistle became Premier League Champions for the first time. In a hard fought game they came from two goals behind on two occasions to beat University who have played five times in the last ten days.

The game was played at pace with both teams making chances and in the thirty sixth minute a University move down the right saw Whitfield cross the ball into the six yard box where Michael Szperzynski‘s diving header beat keeper Hopkins.

Szperzynski made it 0-2 when he again met a cross with his head and scored from six yards. From the restart Cove’s Craig Wilson ran down the right unchallenged and fired in a shot that beat keeper Stephen.

Just on half time University’s Black was unlucky when his shot hit the crossbar and went out of play.

Half-time: 1-2

Ten minutes into the second half University’s Callum Lamont put his team further ahead when his right foot volley beat keeper Hopkins.

Cove pulled a goal back from a corner when Greig Mckenzie outjumped the defence and scored with his header. In seventy two minutes Cove’s Law was taken down in the box and from the spot kick Craig Wilson found the corner of the net.

With five minutes remaining a high ball into the University six yard box was fumbled by keeper Stephen and Cove’s Wilson was waiting to pounce and got the goal that made his team Champions.

Full time: 4-3

Cove Thistle: Hopkins, Bradford, Strachan, Little, Craig, Chalmers, Thom, Gabriel, Wilson, Stewart, Gill. Subs – McKenzie, Law, Greig, Mayfield

University: Stephen, Battles, Scott, Foster, Leiper, Black, Whitfield, Kolowale, Szperzynski, Lamont, Leitch. Sub – Allan

Referee – C. Falconer