Aberdeenshire AFA

Official website of the Aberdeenshire Amateur Football Association

University win the Aberdeen FC Trophy

Cowie Thistle 2 – 4 University

Cowie Thistle and University have met on two occasions in the league this season both winning their home games 2-1. University last won the AFC Trophy in season 1966-67 and Cowie Thistle in season 2000-01.

Cowie started the livelier team with their first attack coming from a move down the right and Adie had a shot saved by keeper Stephen. In six minutes University’s Lamont had Cowie’s keeper Stubbs diving to his right and pushing the ball round the post for a corner.

In fifteen minutes a long throw from University found the head of Neil Rankin who scored from four yards. Minutes later University’s Bell had keeper Stubbs pushing the ball for a corner at full stretch.

Keeper Stubbs was forced into making several saves from University forwards until the fortieth minute when he pushed out a shot from Rankin which fell to Michael Szperzynski who found the net with a right foot drive.

In forty-three minutes a free kick to Cowie was taken by Gary Taylor 25 yards out and his shot beat the unsighted keeper Stephen to make the half time score 1-2.

Half-time: 1-2

On the hour mark University made it 3-1 when a mix up in the Cowie box let Jason Bell control the ball and beat keeper Stubbs. Six minutes later keeper Stubbs fumbled the ball and Szperzynski pounced and scored from close range.

In the dying minutes Cowie’s Robert Hudson scored in a breakaway move to make the final score 2-4.

Full Time: 2-4