Aberdeenshire AFA

Official website of the Aberdeenshire Amateur Football Association

Clark Commercials

About Us

The Aberdeenshire Amateur Football Association has a membership of 86 clubs and is currently one of the largest amateur football associations in Scotland. The Association was formed in 1947 and its coverage extends to both the City of Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire. The Association is affiliated to the Scottish Amateur Football Association (“SAFA”), which celebrated its centenary in 2009, and the aims of the Association are to foster and develop the game of amateur football in the local area. The Association currently has over 2,500 registered players.

League Structure

The AAFA clubs are divided into six leagues – a Premier Division, two First Division sections (North and East), two Second Division sections (North and East) and a Third Division. The system of promotion and relegation allows new clubs to reach the Premier Division within three seasons.

The Champions in the respective leagues in season 2011-12 were as follows:

  • Premier Division: Woodside
  • Division One (North): Insch
  • Division One (East): Luthermuir
  • Division Two (North): Bervie Caledonian
  • Division Two (East): Hazlehead United
  • Division Three: Dee Amateurs

A Player of the Year award is made to the outstanding player in each division, based on man of the match votes from opponents in league games throughout the season. A Divisional Fair Play trophy is also awarded to the team in each division with the fewest disciplinary points throughout the season.

Cup Competitions

All AAFA Clubs are eligible to enter the Scottish Amateur Cup competition. The first two rounds are drawn on a regional basis and there is a national draw from the third round onwards.

AAFA Clubs are also eligible to enter the North of Scotland Amateur Cup which is one of seven regional cup competitions run under the auspices of the Scottish Amateur Football Association.

The AAFA also organises a range of cup competitions for member clubs each season. The most prestigious of these is the Aberdeen FC Trophy, which was donated to the Association by Aberdeen Football Club in season 1947-48. The Aberdeen FC Trophy is a knock-out cup competition for all 85 member clubs and the Edmond Trophy is awarded to the runners-up. The two other main AAFA cup competitions are the Association Trophy (contested by clubs at Premier and First Division level) and the Dickie Trophy (contested by clubs at Second and Third Division level).

In addition, there is a knockout league cup competition for each division, as follows:

  • Premier Division – Premier Trophy
  • Division One (North) – Stephen Shield
  • Division One (East) – White Cup
  • Division Two (North) – Castle Rovers Cup
  • Division Two (East) – Barclay Cook Cup
  • Division Three – Chattan Rovers Cup

The Ian Napier Memorial Shield is contested annually by the Division One (North) and Division One (East) champions from the previous season. The John Todd Memorial Trophy was introduced in season 2009/10 and is contested by the top four clubs from the Premier Division in the previous season.

Office Bearers

The elected Office Bearers in season 2012/13 are as follows:-

President – Jim Napier (Kintore)
Vice-President and Treasurer – Raymond Morrison (Nicolls Amateurs)
Association Secretary and Registrations Secretary – Brian Christie
Match Secretary – Adrian Forrest
Disciplinary Secretary – Larry Officer

General Committee Meetings

General Committee Meetings of all clubs are held every two months. Dates for the the 2012/13 season are:

  • Thursday 23rd August 2012
  • Thursday 25th October 2012
  • Thursday 10th January 2013
  • Thursday 14th March 2013
  • Thursday 9th May 2013
  • Thursday 20th June 2013 – AGM (7pm start)

All meetings are held in the Bon Accord Golf Club Lounge starting at 6.30pm.


The six AAFA leagues will be sponsored by 1st Touch Football in season 2012/13. Colin’s Tyres will once again sponsor the Association and Dickie Trophies and all other AAFA cup competitions will be sponsored in season 2012/13 by Aberdeen Trophy Centre.

The Association would like to extend its thanks to all three sponsors for their support.

Joining Us

Any club which is interested in joining the Association in season 2013/14 should contact the Association Secretary by 30th April 2013.